Kerry O'Brine Womens Wear

Behind the seams

London exhibition Wellcome Collection

Welcome Wellcome – Let Curiosity Get The Better of You

Leave a comment

On Friday I went to the Wellcome Collection in London which I thoroughly enjoyed. This is a gallery/museum that is a little bit different to others. As a designer and being a curious person I enjoy going to exhibitions and learning new things. I find that inspiration can come from anywhere, you never know when the creative spark may happen!

The main exhibition they have on at the moment is called Forensics: The Anatomy of Crime. It takes you through the development of the different areas of forensics through time. You can look at an 18th Century miniature scaled model of a house that has a murder scene in it (the set of houses are still used in Forensic Police training today).

London exhibition Wellcome Collection

One of the Wellcome collection brochures for the Forensics Exhibit

They showed the development of the autopsy. Then taking you right through to today with current developments in virtual autopsies the ‘virtopsy’. You could see the first crime scene photographs and listen to experts explain how it works in their part of forensics. It was very interesting. I really would have liked to have heard a lot more about each of the areas in depth but I’m guessing that would have made it a huge exhibition!

I love a gallery or museum shop. In the Wellcome Collection they had a great range of books that seemed quite different than you can find elsewhere. They also had an unusual selection of gifts and bits and pieces to buy. I could have bought a lot but in the end I bought 1 book!

I would definitely recommend this FREE exhibition as you will certainly learn a lot!

They also have a great little cafe that gets very busy. I wanted to eat in the restaurant upstairs (it looks nice) but I was too early for dinner (starts at 6pm) and I didn’t fancy afternoon tea.

Staircase Wellcome Collection

I love this main staircase in the Wellcome Collection

Reading Room, London

The stairs in The Reading Room at the Wellcome Collection

Leave a Reply

