Kerry O'Brine Womens Wear

Behind the seams

One Task A Day

Leave a comment

2015 began at full speed for me in the studio. I’ve already begun to get annoyed at myself for not achieving enough. Learning my lesson from 2014 (another story for another time that involves a painful wound on my leg!) I am going to quickly nip this in the bud. So I am now breaking down my list of objectives, goals and ‘to dos’ into one daily task and so far it is working!

One achievable task a day keeps the stress away!!

The one job a days builds towards the one job target for the week and this in turn builds towards an achievable monthly goal.

For instance it could be like this;

Month Goal: Have a new location page on the website

A Week Goal: Have the pictures for the new location page

Day One Day Goal: Get inspiration and make a decision about what kind of pictures I want

Day Two Goal: Decide how and where these pictures are coming from. Do I need to arrange a photoshoot? Can I buy some from a photographer that will work well? Do I have appropriate ones already I can re-use?

Day Three Goal: Start actioning from day two’s decisions. I.e. Book in a photoshoot. Find the pictures already have and or find some pictures online I want to buy.

Day Four Goal: Take the pictures or make sure the pictures are edited and ready to go.

Have one goal a day

Have one goal a day

You may do lots of other things too. There is always something else to do as well (especially when you run your own business)! BUT if you achieve one thing that you can tick off and know that it helps to hit the target goal, it gives a warm sense of satisfaction.

Although I am now using this in my business/professional world, it is a technique I have been using in my personal life too. I.e. Today I need to book a haircut – that is the one thing I need to achieve today. An easy and manageable task in the grand scheme of a busy schedule.

Do you have a technique that you use to help achieve goals?

Leave a Reply

