Kerry O'Brine Womens Wear

Behind the seams

Dressing Fear

Leave a comment

So you may have seen a few tweets of mine yesterday, showing a lot of excitement about working through a fear of mine.
I made the decision to go for it – work through my fear. To help myself get through it I decided to put on a smart business outfit, makeup and jewellery. It sounds silly but I find this very helpful.
Changing the way you dress changes the way you feel. By creating an outer facade I find gives confidence within.
Even if no one sees, for instance; my fear was making a tough phone call – it’s all about adjusting (or tricking) the mind.

I found it interesting how dramatically I felt different. I’m not thinking it would work for a fear of flying or snakes but…. a fear of speaking in public, presenting your research to the boss or when starting a new job – this could assist you.

Do you find dressing ‘up’ helps your confidence to do things you are scared of?

 

Leave a Reply

