Kerry O'Brine Womens Wear

Behind the seams

Packing for Travel – Light!

3 Comments

So you have your special travel drawer organised and packed to the brim.
What should you pack and how?
The Basics:

  • For short business trips pack items that can all mix and match
  • Pack in outfits
  • Don’t pack things you wouldn’t wear normally

The Basic Items List:
• Nude lingerie set
• One day bag
• One evening bag
• One pair of nude or black heels
• One pair of neutral flats
• Your best dress
I find I pack the best in outfits. I pick out key pieces that I want to wear on the trip, whether I’m on a business trip or holiday.
I like to think about my trip’s itinerary and pick my outfits accordingly. That sounds obvious, I know, but be quite specific. Will you be walking a lot from location to location or will you be getting taxis? Is there the potential for some high-end meals out or will you be chilling in your hotel room?
So keeping that all in mind I start to pick a key item for each ‘event’ on the itinerary.
For example: My Three day Trip to Paris itinerary (part business / part pleasure!)
Day 1:
Travel to St Pancras get the train to Paris
Arrive, drop bag off at hotel and go to an exhibition
Eve: meal and drinks out

Day 2:
Go to fabric exhibition all day
Eve: meal and drinks out

Day 3:
Go to shops
Catch train home

The dress in the middle of the outfit building below is what I wore for business day two. This was how I then built up the wardrobe for the three days.

Travel light
3 thoughts on “Packing for Travel – Light!

  1. Nice selection, but I would add a dash of color (just me).

Leave a Reply

