Kerry O'Brine Womens Wear

Behind the seams

Feeling a bit Bamboozled

Leave a comment

Bamboo versus Silk

I have been going back and forth in my mind as to whether to use a bamboo jersey or silk jersey for some clothing I am working on. As with everything there are pros and cons to both. Aesthetically I am yet to find a bamboo or other ‘environmentally friendly’ fabric that can truly surpass silk. If I don’t love a fabric I don’t want to use it for my collections. I am torn, as I don’t want to produce products that are harmful to the environment. I recently came across this blog entry:

http://organicclothing.blogs.com/my_weblog/2007/09/bamboo-facts-be.html

I think you’ll find it as interesting as I did. It seems an unbiased look into the pros and cons of bamboo. Fabrics with bamboo in have some great properties but there are also some downsides which I hadn’t considered. I am looking at using some bamboo fabrics that say they are certified by Oeko-Tex 100 and OCIA (Organic Crop Improvement Association). So that is a plus, as you’ll see from that article.

So we shall see, I’m going to show some clients the fabric samples and see how they feel about the fabrics.

Leave a Reply

